Matronics Email Lists Forum Index Matronics Email Lists
BBS Forum Interface to the Matronics Email Lists
 
 Get Email Distribution Too!Get Email Distribution Too!    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Garmin Aera660 powered from aircraft bus

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John M Tipton



Joined: 07 Aug 2018
Posts: 25
Location: Devon - England

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 1:42 am    Post subject: Garmin Aera660 powered from aircraft bus Reply with quote

Hi Guys

We intend to mount a Garmin Aera660 semi potable GPS into our panel using an AirGizmo mount, so far so good, with the wiring pack comes a 'cigar socket' power plug, is it OK to cut this off and connect to the aircraft bus, or does the cigar plug actually have a voltage reduction circuit inside.

Regards: John


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuckolls.bob(at)aeroelect
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:36 am    Post subject: Garmin Aera660 powered from aircraft bus Reply with quote

At 03:42 AM 1/26/2019, you wrote:
Quote:
--> AeroElectric-List message posted by: "John M Tipton" <john(at)tiptonuk.eu>

Hi Guys

We intend to mount a Garmin Aera660 semi potable GPS into our panel using an AirGizmo mount, so far so good, with the wiring pack comes a 'cigar socket' power plug, is it OK to cut this off and connect to the aircraft bus, or does the cigar plug actually have a voltage reduction circuit inside.

Regards: John

Appendix D of the users manual describes
this item:

[img]cid:.0[/img]

A 'bare' wire interface between the Aera660 and
ship's systems. Also, the manual speaks to an
internal, 3A fuse in the cigar-lighter plug.
This is a common connector to many automotive
add-ons. The fuse installation takes up a substantial
volume of the connector shell . . . it seems
very unlikely that it contains additional
electronics . . . a disassembly would confirm.



Bob . . .


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List



ee3b1de.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  151.57 KB
 Viewed:  353 Time(s)

ee3b1de.jpg


Back to top
John M Tipton



Joined: 07 Aug 2018
Posts: 25
Location: Devon - England

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Garmin Aera660 powered from aircraft bus Reply with quote

Hi Bob

I've managed to get hold of a Garmin GPS lead, and the plug that goes into the unit has four pins, two are dormant, the other two are 12v + & -, the cigar plug once dismantled has indeed a glass fuse link, so all good for 12v fused to the aircraft bus.

Which does raise one other question, the fuse looks like 1/4amp, how do I fuse this (and other items like 'steam gauge lighting') which have only light gauge wires, the smallest fuse available for the bus is 1amp

John


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hlbartel(at)pld.com
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 6:18 am    Post subject: Garmin Aera660 powered from aircraft bus Reply with quote

John,

I'm not sure where you live, but you should be able to go to an electronics
store and find that fuse there. When I was still at the local airport as
manager, we installed an AWOS, and the phone line to it was fused with a
1/10 amp fuse. When we installed it to protect an ISI board ($300) we no
longer blew the board at evey thunderstorm. That 1/10 amp fuse was only $2,
and much easier to replace.

Harry
N0HQG

--


- The Matronics AeroElectric-List Email Forum -
 

Use the List Feature Navigator to browse the many List utilities available such as the Email Subscriptions page, Archive Search & Download, 7-Day Browse, Chat, FAQ, Photoshare, and much more:

http://www.matronics.com/Navigator?AeroElectric-List
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Matronics Email Lists Forum Index -> AeroElectric-List All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group